Promotion of selfish, immoral and destructive lifestyles via the print media

Daily Mail

How does the boast ‘I breastfeed my puppy’ strike you? Or ‘I had sex with my car’? As some kind of sick joke, I would suspect. Unless, perhaps, you are an avid reader of Closer magazine, in which case you would know they are the real-life confessions of everyday folk, who might include that nice girl next door with the new dog or the chap down the road who spends a lot of time polishing his motor.

For 30 years I lived, breathed – and defended – women’s magazines. For 13 of those years, I worked on Cosmopolitan, and for the last five of those years, from the mid-Eighties, I was that magazine’s editor.

So it could be that the words pot, kettle and black spring to mind when I say that I am shocked, bewildered and disgusted by what has happened to women’s magazines since the days when the weeklies were the cosy end of the market, all about knitting patterns and 50 ways with leftovers.

You could accuse me of hypocrisy. You might tell me I am out of touch with the interests, needs and desires of younger women. You could tell me that I’m one of the architects of the problem. But you can’t take away the fact that as I browsed the magazines at WH Smith at Waterloo station this week, I felt an overwhelming wave of nausea.

First to assault my eyes was Closer, with the coverline: ‘Incest Mum Shock: Sex with my son sets me on fire.’ This is the magazine that also proudly claims on its cover: The UK’s No 1 Celeb and Real Life Mag.

Taking a look at Bella, I was horrified by what appeared to be career advice: ‘Why I want my daughter to be a hooker like me!’

Next up to offend was That’s Life! with a picture of something large and disturbing protruding from a man’s bottom, with the coverline: ‘What was sticking out of his bum?’

For a fraction of a second I was tempted to look inside and find out what exactly was sticking out of this man’s backside, but I stopped myself. It’s revolting. Why would I care?

Indeed. From what I know of Fabianism, third way thinking and the desire from the Left to destroy western society, this just looks like feedback loop.

The media promotes disgusting, ridiculous, amoral and immoral, narcissistic, superficial, consumer lifestyles in order to influence the idiots who devour such nonsense. It is a form of peer pressure-induced control also, as (especially women) are inclined to subscribe to it, in order to not risk being ‘left out’ of  the depravity.

Are people  so fucking vapid that they find these things more interesting than understanding the global power structure, the nature of money and what freedom is?

Leave a Reply

